And you can bet Google is profiting by releasing your data, or they wouldn’t do it.
USA Today reported:
The company updated its Terms of Service to allow them to add users’ names, photos or comments in a series of ads called Shared Endorsements.
Sounds to me like Google is allowing advertisers to get more information on you, without having to go through the NSA.
Google’s new policy:
We want to give you – and your friends and connections – the most useful information. Recommendations from people you know can really help. So your friends, family and others may see your Profile name and photo, and content like the reviews you share or the ads you +1’d.
This only happens when you take an action (things like +1’ing, commenting or following) – and the only people who see it are the people you’ve chosen to share that content with. On Google, you’re in control of what you share. This update to our Terms of Service doesn’t change in any way who you’ve shared things with in the past or your ability to control who you want to share things with in the future.
Feedback from people you know can save you time and improve results for you and your friends across all Google services, including Search, Maps, Play and in advertising.
For example, your friends might see that you rated an album 4 stars on the band’s Google Play page. And the +1 you gave your favorite local bakery could be included in an ad that the bakery runs through Google. We call these recommendations shared endorsements and you can learn more about them here.
When it comes to shared endorsements in ads, you can control the use of your Profile name and photo via the Shared Endorsements setting.
If you turn the setting to “off,” your Profile name and photo will not show up on that ad for your favorite bakery or any other ads. This setting only applies to use in ads, and doesn’t change whether your Profile name or photo may be used in other places such as Google Play.
If you previously told Google that you did not want your +1’s to appear in ads, then of course we’ll continue to respect that choice as a part of this updated setting. For users under 18, their actions won’t appear in shared endorsements in ads and certain other contexts.
Hmmm. Google+ users better think carefully before “+1-ing” a post or article: your +1 can be tomorrow’s ad for that business or entity.
This on the heels of Facebook’s new announcement, that they will now allow you to find previously hidden profiles.
The social network announced in December that it was retiring the option for users to control whether they show up when others type their name into the search bar, but said Thursday that it would finally be notifying those who use it that the setting will be removed.
The timing of these moves is suspicious, and likely helps the NSA in some way, or allows Obama’s Organizing for America to gather people’s names and other interesting information more easily.